samusocial Mali

samusocial Mali © Harandane Dicko

Bamako, Mali – crated in 2001

 

Mali is going through a security crisis characterized by terrorist and inter-community violence and the displacement of populations towards Bamako. In addition to this deteriorated security context, there is a health crisis, its economic impact, and political instability. This accumulation has had considerable consequences on the deterioration of the survival conditions of children and youth living on the street (increased violence, scarcity of means of subsistence, increased difficulties in accessing mainstream services, etc.) but also on the increase in their numbers. Through its daily presence on the street, SamusocialMali witnessed this deterioration very early on, as well as the increasingly visible presence of people from neighborhoods hosting internally displaced persons.

 

In addition to regular support, whether technical or related to the management of the program, SamusocialInternational has provided a great deal of support to SamusocialMali, in particular for the study on the development of accommodation options that SamusocialMali can offer to children and young people encountered on the street. Faced with the scarcity of available and adapted places in shelters, it was essential to review the emergency shelter system in order to increase SamusocialMali‘s referral capacity and to be able to offer a variety of solutions adapted to the specific and particular needs of each beneficiary, according to their age, gender, life history or requests.

 

 

Activities :

Mobiles 2Mobile help teams

SamusocialMali makes daily rounds in Bamako, meeting children and young people living on the street, directly in their living areas. Two evenings a week, these rounds are dedicated to young girls and young mothers living on the streets and are conducted by a specialized team composed of a nurse, a social worker and a driver – social worker. This work allows us to identify children and provide them with assistance, medical and psychosocial care, to carry out awareness-raising activities, but also to identify those most at risk on the street in order to bring them to safety.

 

 

Emergency accommodation/ day center

Resocialization through stable housing and the recovery of life rhythms (sleep, meals, hygiene…) is the first essential step in a reintegration process. This is why SamusocialMali relies on partner shelters that have enabled the orientation of 167 beneficiaries in 2021.

 

 

Orientation 2Orientation and integration assistance

SamusocialMali‘s professionals accompany children and young people who request it in their personalized projects to get off the street and reintegrate into society, the economy and/or the family. In 2021, 199 beneficiaries received support: schooling, vocational training and apprenticeship projects, particularly in hairdressing, sewing, agriculture and truck driving.

 

 

Actions 2Advocacy actions

SamusocialMali is at the origin of the consultation framework for actors in the fight against the social exclusion of street children and youth. This space allows for the sensitization of public authorities on the issue and facilitates the implementation of joint and synergistic actions. SamusocialMali also organizes, with the participation of children and youth, events and interventions with community leaders and civil society. SamusocialMali is increasingly reaching out to civil society through these events as well as through radio and television programs. The objective is to fight against the stigmatization of street children but also to prevent children from leaving their family homes.

 

 

Soutien 2

Support to partner associations

Each year, a continuous training program is carried out to reinforce the skills of Samusocial’s professionals and care partners. SamusocialMali’s partner structures also benefit from medical and social services provided by SamusocialMali’s teams, allowing for a transfer of skills and the development of synergies in care. Finally, SamusocialMali takes charge of training and sensitization of health center staff, law enforcement officers and court personnel so that they understand the specificities of this public and the means to best accompany them.

 

 

Key figures 2020:

1,575 Beneficiaries of the action

497 Day and night outreach

167 Referrals to accommodation

2,798 Psychosocial interviews

13,809 Nutritional supplements distributed

 

 

For more information:

Contact: samusocialmali@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamusocialMali/?fref=ts

samusocial Mali

samusocial Mali © Harandane Dicko

Bamako, Mali – créé en 2001

 

Le Mali traverse une crise sécuritaire caractérisée par des violences terroristes et intercommunautaires et le déplacement de populations vers Bamako. A ce contexte sécuritaire dégradé se sont surajoutées la crise sanitaire, ses impacts économiques, et l’instabilité politique. Cette accumulation a eu des conséquences considérables sur la dégradation des conditions de survie des enfants et jeunes vivant en rue (augmentation des violences subies, raréfaction des moyens de subsistance, augmentation des difficultés à accéder aux services de droit commun…) mais aussi sur l’augmentation de leur nombre. De par sa présence quotidienne en rue, le SamusocialMali a été très tôt le témoin de de cette dégradation mais aussi de l’augmentation de la présence, de plus en plus visible, de personnes issues des quartiers accueillant des déplacés internes.

Au-delà du soutien régulier, qu’il soit technique ou lié à la gestion du dispositif, le SamusocialInternational a fortement accompagné le SamusocialMali, notamment pour la réalisation de l’étude sur le développement des options d’hébergement que le SamusocialMali peut proposer aux enfants et jeunes rencontrés en rue. Face à la raréfaction des places disponibles et adaptées en centre d’hébergement, il apparaissait primordial de revoir le dispositif d’hébergement et de mise à l’abri d’urgence afin d’augmenter la capacité d’orientation du SamusocialMali et de pouvoir proposer une diversité de solutions adaptées aux besoins spécifiques et particuliers de chacun des bénéficiaires, en fonction de leur âge, leur genre, leur parcours de vie ou encore leurs demandes.

 

Activités :

Mobiles 2Equipes mobiles d’aide

Le SamusocialMali effectue des tournées quotidiennes (« maraudes ») dans Bamako, à la rencontre des enfants et jeunes vivant en rue, directement sur leurs lieux de vie. Deux soirs par semaine, ces tournées sont dédiées aux jeunes filles et jeunes mères de la rue et menées par une équipe spécialisée composée d’une infirmière, d’une travailleuse sociale et d’un chauffeur – accueillant social. Ce travail permet de repérer les enfants et de leur apporter une aide, des soins médicaux et psychosociaux, d’effectuer des activités de sensibilisation, mais également d’identifier les plus en danger en rue afin de les mettre à l’abri.

 Hébergement d’urgence/ centre de jour

La resocialisation à travers un logement stable et le recouvrement des rythmes de vie (sommeil, repas, hygiène…) est la première étape incontournable dans un processus de réinsertion. C’est pourquoi, le SamusocialMali s’appuie sur des centres d’hébergement partenaires qui ont permis l’orientation de 167 bénéficiaires en 2021.

Orientation 2 Orientation et aide à l’insertion

Les enfants et jeunes qui en formulent la demande sont accompagnés par les professionnels du SamusocialMali dans des projets personnalisés de sortie de rue et de réinsertion sociale, économique et/ou familiale. En 2021, 199 bénéficiaires ont suivi un accompagnement : projets de scolarisation, de formation professionnelle et d’apprentissage, notamment sur les métiers de la coiffure, la couture, l’agriculture ou encore la conduite de poids-lourd.

Actions 2 Actions de plaidoyer

 

Le SamusocialMali est à l’origine du cadre de concertation des acteurs de la lutte contre l’exclusion sociale des enfants et jeunes de la rue. Cet espace permet la sensibilisation des pouvoirs publics sur la problématique et facilite la mise en œuvre d’actions conjointes et en synergie. Le SamusocialMali organise aussi, avec la participation des enfants et jeunes, des manifestations et interventions auprès des leaders communautaires et de la société civile. Le SamusocialMali cherche de plus en plus à atteindre la société civile à travers ces événements mais aussi des émissions radio ou télévisuelles. L’objectif est de lutter contre la stigmatisation des enfants en rue mais aussi de prévenir les départs d’enfants de leur foyer familial.

Soutien 2Soutien aux associations partenaires

Chaque année, un programme de formation continue est réalisé pour renforcer les compétences des professionnels du Samusocial et des partenaires de prise en charge. Les structures partenaires du SamusocialMali bénéficient aussi des permanences médico-sociales réalisées par les équipes du SamusocialMali, permettant un transfert de compétence et le développement de synergie dans la prise en charge. Enfin, le SamusocialMali prend en charge la formation et la sensibilisation des personnels des centres de santé, des forces de l’ordre et des tribunaux afin que ces derniers comprennent les spécificités de ce public et les moyens de les accompagner au mieux.

 

L’action du Samusocial Mali en chiffres.

En moyenne, chaque année, l’action du Samusocial Mali représente : 

près de 2 000  Bénéficiaires de l’action

2400 soins médicaux (soins ambulatoires, hospitalisations, bilans et examens médicaux)

12 000 compléments nutritionnels distribués

2 500 entretiens psychosociaux individuels

150 Orientations en centre d’hébergement social 

115  Retours en famille

80 Projets de formation, d’une scolarisation ou encore d’aide à l’installation de leur activité économique

Rapport d’Activité 2022 

Samusocial Mali _Rapport d’activité 2022

 

Plus d’informations :

Contact : samusocialmali@gmail.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/SamusocialMali/?fref=ts