Samusocial International in Lebanon

  Beirut, Lebanon – created in 2017

 

With a vulnerable population of nearly 1.5 million and a massive population of Syrian refugees fleeing the conflict, Lebanon is facing one of the largest humanitarian crises in its history. More than half of those affected by the crisis are urban children living in often undignified and miserable conditions; in Beirut, more and more of them are working or begging on the streets.

Since 2017 in Lebanon, Samusocial has been supporting its local partner, Amel Association International, in the implementation of a scheme to combat social exclusion in the Southern Suburbs of Beirut. The activities of taking care of the beneficiaries followed their course throughout the year 2021 with disruptions related to the pandemic of COVID-19 and the periods of confinement put in place in Lebanon. The Lebanese population was confronted with significant gasoline shortages and hyperinflation during the summer which did not spare the scheme. To compensate for this and the impossibility for the Mobile Outreach Team to travel to conduct outreach activities, the care activities were adapted during these periods in order to maintain the link of trust with the beneficiaries through regular telephone contacts.

The COVID-19 pandemic and gasoline shortages had a significant impact on the activities, but the adaptability of the Mobile Assistance Teams and the partnership between Amel and SamusocialInternational allowed us to maintain the outreach activities. Beyond the health crisis, Lebanon is also affected by an economic, social and political crisis that has caused the deterioration of the living conditions of the beneficiaries and the conditions of care provided by the EMA. The explosion of August 4th, 2020 had a strong psychological impact on beneficiaries and professionals, which continues to be felt today.

Activities:

Mobiles 2  Mobile Assistance Teams (EMA)

Amel Association International’s Mobile Assistance Team conducts outreach activities 5 days a week. The children and teenagers followed by the team spend the day on the street but live, for the most part, in their homes. The EMA therefore also makes home visits during its patrols. In addition to individual medical and psychosocial care and follow-up, the team carries out collective awareness-raising activities on the street. During the periods of confinement linked to the COVID-19 pandemic, the team was able to continue to follow up with the beneficiaries by setting up a telephone follow-up. In response to the Lebanese crisis, EMA also developed food parcel distribution activities for the most vulnerable families.

Orientation 2  Guidance and Integration assistance

Amel’s five medical and social centers in the EMA’s area of intervention were heavily mobilized for referral activities during the confinements, in particular to keep people in their care during the pandemic. More generally, referrals to other specialized institutions are an integral part of the system’s missions. This does not necessarily imply formalized partnerships through agreements, but collaboration in the daily work.

 Advocacy actions

The advocacy work is mainly carried out locally by Amel Association International, which is regularly in contact with the Lebanese Ministry of Health. Amel also participates in the Child Protection Working Group for the Beirut-Mount Lebanon region and at the national level. These working groups are facilitated by UNICEF.

 Support to partner associations

SamusocialInternational brings its expertise in mobile assistance intervention in urban areas. On the other hand, Amel Association has an existing operational mechanism, medical technical expertise and knowledge of Lebanese protection and assistance mechanisms. In addition, the programme is developing a humanitarian, national and international network of actors involved in the refugee crisis for immediate protection solutions in Lebanon. Close collaboration with UNHCR, IRC and the Makhzoumi Foundation (the main actors involved in the protection of street children in Beirut) is taking shape.

Key figures for 2023:

715 Beneficiaries of the action

238 Day and night outreach activities

3,226 Medical consultations/nursing care

1,619 Social interviews

1,208 Referrals to appropriate care services

More informations:

 

Contact : ls.sorlin@samu-social-international.com

Samusocial International au Liban

Beyrouth, Liban – créé en 2017


Avec une population vulnérable de près d’1.5 million et une population massive de réfugiés syriens fuyant le conflit, le Liban fait face à l’une des plus graves crises humanitaires de son histoire. Plus de la moitié des personnes touchées par la crise sont des enfants en milieu urbain vivant dans des conditions souvent indignes et misérables ; à Beyrouth, ils sont de plus en plus nombreux à travailler ou mendier en rue.


Depuis 2017 au Liban, le Samusocial appui son partenaire local, Amel Association International, pour la mise en œuvre d’un dispositif de lutte contre l’exclusion sociale dans la Banlieue Sud de Beyrouth. Les activités de prise en charge des bénéficiaires ont suivi leur cours tout au long de l’année 2021 avec des perturbations liées à la pandémie de COVID-19 et aux périodes de confinement mises en place au Liban. La population libanaise a été confrontée à d’importantes pénuries d’essence et à une hyperinflation au cours de l’été qui n’ont pas épargné le dispositif. Pour pallier cela et l’impossibilité pour l’Équipe Mobile d’Aide de se déplacer pour effectuer les maraudes, les activités de prise en charge ont été adaptées, pendant ces périodes, afin de maintenir le lien de confiance avec les bénéficiaires via des contacts téléphoniques réguliers.


La pandémie de COVID-19 et les pénuries d’essence ont eu un impact significatif sur les activités mais la capacité d’adaptation de l’Equipe Mobile d’Aide et du partenariat entre Amel et le SamusocialInternational a permis de maintenir les activités de prise en charge. Au-delà de la crise sanitaire, Le Liban est également touché par une crise économique, sociale et politique qui a provoqué la détérioration des conditions de vie des bénéficiaires et des conditions de prise en charge par l’EMA. L’explosion du 4 août 2020 a, par ailleurs, eu un impact psychologique fort sur les bénéficiaires et sur les professionnels, qui continue encore à se faire ressentir aujourd’hui.



Activités :

Mobiles 2

Equipes Mobiles d’Aide (EMA)

L’Equipe Mobile d’Aide d’Amel Association International réalise des maraudes 5 jours par semaine. Les enfants et adolescents suivis par le dispositif passent la journée en rue mais vivent, pour la plupart, au sein de leur foyer, l’EMA effectue donc également des visites à domicile lors des maraudes. En plus de la prise en charge et du suivi individuel médico-psychosocial, l’équipe réalise des activités de sensibilisation collective en rue. Pendant les périodes de confinement liées à la pandémie de COVID-19, l’équipe a pu continuer à suivre les bénéficiaires via la mise en place d’un suivi téléphonique. Pour faire face à la crise libanaise, l’EMA a aussi développé les activités de distribution de colis alimentaires pour les familles les plus vulnérables.



Orientation 2

Orientations et aide à l’insertion

Les 5 centres médico-sociaux d’Amel sur la zone d’intervention de l’EMA ont été fortement mobilisés dans le cadre des activités d’orientation au cours des confinements, notamment pour maintenir les personnes dans leurs parcours de soin en période de pandémie. Plus largement, les orientations vers d’autres institutions spécialisées font partie intégrante des missions du dispositif. Cela n’implique pas nécessairement des partenariats formalisés par conventions, mais des collaborations dans le travail quotidien.



Actions plaidoyer

Le travail de plaidoyer est essentiellement porté localement par Amel Association International qui est régulièrement en lien avec le Ministère de la Santé Libanais. Par ailleurs, Amel participe aussi au Child Protection Working Group pour la région de Beyrouth – Mont Liban ainsi qu’au niveau national. Ces groupes de travail sont facilités par l’UNICEF.



Soutien aux associations partenaires

Le SamusocialInternational apporte son expertise dans l’intervention mobile d’aide dans les zones urbaines. D’autre part, Amel Association est fort d’un dispositif opérationnel existant, d’une expertise technique médicale et d’une connaissance des mécanismes de protection et d’assistance libanais. Par ailleurs, le programme développe un réseau humanitaire, national et international d’acteurs impliqués dans la crise des réfugiés pour des solutions de protection immédiate au Liban. Une collaboration étroite avec le HCR, IRC et la Fondation Makhzoumi (principaux acteurs intervenant dans la protection des enfants en situation de rue de Beyrouth) prend forme.



Chiffres clefs 2021:

629 Bénéficiaires de l’action

172 Maraudes de jour et de nuit

998 Consultations médicales / soins infirmiers

863 Entretiens sociaux

403 Orientations vers de services de prise en charge adaptés



Plus d’informations :

Contact : ls.sorlin@samu-social-international.com