samusocial Burkina Faso

39Burkina_diffusableOuagadougou, Burkina Faso – created in 2001

 

Burkina Faso is ranked 183rd out of 187 countries on the Human Development Index (HDI) and 43% of its population lives below the poverty line. Created in 2002, SamusocialBurkinaFaso (SSBF) is an association recognized as a public utility since 2013, which operates in partnership with the Ministry of Women, National Solidarity and Family. Within the network of child protection actors, it provides medical-psycho-social and educational care for children and young people who are victims of social exclusion, in street situations.

 

 

The situation in Burkina Faso has been characterised for the past seven years by a security and humanitarian crisis, the widespread precarity of communities, the failure to respect the fundamental rights of children, and a hardening of the institutional response to the presence of children and young people on the street, etc. The increase in the number of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), with an estimated 1,579,976 people on 31 December 2021 (according to the National Council for Emergency Relief and Rehabilitation (CONASUR)) and their strong presence in the country’s major cities (around 8,000 families in Ouagadougou according to humanitarian actors1 ), further complicates the situation.

 

As a key player in the protection net for children and young people living on the street and in the care chain, it is essential for samusocialBurkinaFaso to continue and strengthen the work of identifying and creating links on the street, on the one hand, and providing quality care via the medical practice, the day care center and the emergency shelter, on the other, for the benefit of children and young people living on the street. It is also essential to offer care and awareness-raising activities in vulnerable communities where IDPs and foster families are concentrated, with a view to preventing children from going on the street.

 

 

 

 

Activities:

 

 

Mobiles 2

Mobile Assistance Teams (EMA)

A mobile assistance team 7 days a week for street children and youth, with the intervention of a psychologist once a week. The daily and close intervention of samusocialBurkinaFaso‘s EMAs contributes to re-establishing an essential social link, which is in itself a component of social reintegration.

 

 

 

 

Emergency shelter

The open Emergency Shelter with Nursing and Psychosocial Care (CHUSIP) 7 days a week and 24 hours a day with a dormitory with a capacity of 20 places intends to accommodate the children most in danger or in need of recovery. The CHUSIP offers medical consultations, social/psychological interviews, activities, a hygiene service and a food service.

 

 

 

Accueil 2

Day care center

SamusocialBurkinaFaso‘s day care center is composed of a hygiene area, a medical office and a medical-psychological team.

 

 

 

 

 

Actions 2

Advocacy action

The SamusocialBurkinaFaso organizes awareness and prevention events for the population and public actors in Burkina Faso (through screenings and debates, radio programs or spots, newsletters, etc.). In order to forge new links, the SamusocialBurkinaFaso organized an academic seminar at the Ecole des Cadre Moyens en Travail Social, which allowed for interaction with a hundred or so future specialized social work students.

 

 

 

Soutien 2

Support to partner associations

The SamusocialBurkinaFaso supports local partner structures in the realization of construction projects, medical permanence, reinforcement and training, participation and joint organization of events.

 

 

 

 

Key figures for 2022:

800 beneficiaries of the action

240 Day and night outreach activities

177 Referrals to accommodation

790 Social or educational interviews

1,800 Medical consultations and care

55 Psychological interviews

 

 

 

 

More informations:

Facebook : Samusocial Burkina Faso

Website: www.samusocialburkinafaso.org

Samusocial Burkina Faso

 

 

  Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso – créé en 2001

 

Le Burkina Faso est classé 183ème sur 187 pays selon l’Indice de Développement Humain (IDH) et 43% de sa population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté. Créé en 2002, le SamusocialBurkinaFaso est une association reconnue d’utilité publique depuis 2013, qui opère en partenariat avec le Ministère de la Femme, de la Solidarité Nationale et de la Famille. Au sein du réseau d’acteurs de la protection de l’enfance, il assure la prise en charge médico-psycho-sociale et éducative des enfants et jeunes victimes d’exclusion sociale, en situations de rue.

 

 

La situation au Burkina Faso est, depuis 7 ans, caractérisée par un contexte de crise sécuritaire et humanitaire, de précarisation tentaculaire des communautés, de non-respect des droits fondamentaux des enfants, de durcissement de la réponse institutionnelle à la présence d’enfants et jeunes en rue, etc. L’augmentation du nombre de Personnes Déplacées Internes (PDI) donnant lieu à une estimation de 1 579 976 personnes au 31 décembre 2021 (selon le Conseil National de Secours d’Urgence et de Réhabilitation (CONASUR)) et leur forte présence dans les grandes villes du pays (environ 8 000 familles à Ouagadougou selon des acteurs humanitaires) viennent encore complexifier la situation.

 

En tant qu’acteur clé du filet de protection des  enfants et jeunes vivant en rue et de la chaîne de prise en charge, il est fondamental pour le SamusocialBurkinaFaso de poursuivre et de renforcer le travail d’identification, de création de lien en rue d’une part, et de prise en charge de qualité via le cabinet médical, le centre d’accueil de jour et le centre d’hébergement d’urgence, d’autre part au bénéfice des enfants et jeunes en situation de rue. Il est aussi essentiel de proposer des actions de prise en charge et de sensibilisation au sein des communautés vulnérables concentrant des PDI et des familles d’accueil dans l’optique de prévenir les départs en rue d’enfants.

 

Activités :

 Équipes mobiles d’aide (EMA)

 

Une équipe mobile d’aide 7 jours/ 7 auprès d’enfants et jeunes de la rue, avec l’intervention d’un psychologue une fois par semaine. L’intervention quotidienne et de proximité des EMA du SamusocialBurkinaFaso contribue à rétablir un lien social essentiel, constitutif en soi, d’une action de réinsertion sociale. 

 

 Hébergement d’urgence

 

Le Centre d’Hébergement d’Urgence avec Soins Infirmiers et Psychosociaux (CHUSIP) ouvert 7j/7 et 24h/24 avec un dortoir d’une capacité de 20 places est destiné à accueillir les enfants les plus en danger ou en besoin de récupérer. Le CHUSIP propose des consultations médicales, des entretiens sociaux /psychologiques, des animations, un service d’hygiène et un service alimentaire.

 

 Centre d’accueil de jour

 

L’accueil de jour du SamusocialBurkinaFaso est composé d’un espace d’hygiène, d’un cabinet médical et d’une équipe médico-psychologique.

 

  Action de plaidoyer

 

Le SamusocialBurkinaFaso organise des événements de sensibilisation et de prévention auprès de la population et des acteurs publics burkinabés (via des projections-débats, des émissions ou spots radio, des newsletters, etc.). Afin de tisser de nouveaux liens, le SamusocialBurkinaFaso a organisé un séminaire académique à l’Ecole des Cadre Moyens en Travail Social, qui a permis d’interagir avec une centaine d’étudiants futurs travailleurs sociaux spécialisés.

 

 Soutien aux associations partenaires

 

Le SamusocialBurkinaFaso soutient des structures partenaires locales dans la réalisation de projets de construction, des permanences médicales, le renforcement et la formation, la participation et l’organisation commune d’événement

 

Chiffres clefs 2023 :

1 056 Bénéficiaires de l’action

243 Maraudes de jour et nuit

156 Personnes hébergées

923 Entretiens sociaux ou éducatifs

2 154 Consultations et soins médicaux

53 Entretiens psychologiques

813 Causeries de groupe socio-éducatives

 

Pour plus d’informations : 

Facebook : Samusocial Burkina Faso

Site internet: www.samusocialburkinafaso.org